2022 Recipients

It is our pleasure to announce the 2022 PEICFP Award winners, awards were presented on June 17, 2022 at the Annual Meeting of the Members. PEI College President Dr. Heather Austin and Hon. Ernie Hudson, Minister of Health and Wellness presented the awards.

CFPC Awards of Excellence
The 2022 CFPC Awards of Excellence recognize family physicians who are meritorious and recognized at the provincial and national levels.

Congratulations to Dr. Nadine Arsenault Samson, Dr Shannon Curtis, and Dr. Michele Murray of Charlottetown.

Dr. Nadine Arsenault Samson in addition to her office practice and inpatient duties, she attends palliative rounds weekly and is one of two physicians providing palliative care in Prince County. Being fluently bilingual, she offers this service to our Francophone community.

Dr. Nadine ArsenaultSamson

Dr. Shannon Curtis has excelled in many ways including residency program leadership, peer wellness initiatives, recruitment and retention.

Dr. Shannon Curtis

Dr. Michele Murray has provided advocacy and admin work supporting: improving the MAiD program on PEI.

Dr. Michele Murray

The 2022 PEI Family Physician of the Year Award recognizes an outstanding CFPC member who exemplifies the ideals of family medicine.

Dr. Ronald Nicholson

The 2022 PEI Family Physician of the Year is Dr. Ronald Nicholson of Summerside.
Dr. Ronald Nicholson graduated in the days of rotating internship and earned his certification by the practice eligible route. His practice included obstetrical deliveries and ER shifts in his early and mid-career. He provided inpatient care until he was over 65 and continues to provide excellent patient care to his large and ageing practice. He has an excellent memory for details of his patients’ histories and for continuing professional presentations. Congratulations Dr. Ronald Nicholson.